Southern Youth Choir

The Southern Youth Choir was formed in 1992 by Maureen Smith and Anthony Ritchie. It is comprised of young singers between the ages of 16 and 25 years; some from secondary schools, most from the University and some continuing to be members after starting their working lives.

The choir aims to up-skill young singers in the Dunedin region to participate in four-part choral music and present their programmes two or three times a year to local audiences. The choir benefits from the support of the University of Otago by rehearsing once a week in Marama Hall over the two-semester University period.

Over the years, the Southern Youth Choir has been led by conductors who have gone on to become well-known. They include Anthony Ritchie, Tecwyn Evans, Jonathan Lemalu, David Burchell, Holly Mathieson, Josh Clark and George Chittenden.  Benjamin Madden was conductor until the end of 2019. The choir now has John Buchanan as an Interregnum conductor until a new conductor is appointed

SYC Concert V3

Southern Youth Choir Trust

Website by Jeffrey Dick